Subscribe to get more news & reviews from Yanado

How Billing in Yanado Works

Yanado billing

This article is part of our How To Yanado series.

In this guide, we’ll introduce you with the rules and conditions under which billing is performed in Yanado.

To start with, there are two billing cycles you can choose from:

  • Monthly
  • Annually

Billing is always performed in the first day of the month, regardless of the chosen billing cycle and the subscription plan.

Depending on whether you’ve chosen the monthly or annual cycle, the billing rules and conditions are applied specifically for the following cases:

  • Upgrading your account to a subscription plan
  • Adding a new user on the team
  • Removing a user from the team
  • Changing to another subscription plan

 

Upgrading Your Account

Once you register to Yanado you will be set on a 14-day free trial.

When the free trial expires (whether you’re a single user or you have more than one user on the team), you will have the opportunity to upgrade your account to one of the subscription plans:

  • Startup
  • Premium

If you are a single user, and you choose not to upgrade your account to Startup or Premium plan after the free trial expires, you will automatically be set on a FREE plan which you can continue using as long as it works for you.

FREE subscription plan includes the following features:

  • Task Management
  • Real-Time Notifications
  • Reminders
  • Google Drive Integration
  • Custom Task Statuses
  • Tags
  • Add Email As A Task
  • Card & List View
  • In-app Support

In case you need any of the features from the Startup or Premium subscription plans, you will be asked to upgrade your account accordingly.

If you have more than one user on the team, and you choose not to upgrade your account to Startup or Premium plan after the free trial expires, the Yanado extension will automatically be blocked and you’ll not be able to use it.

 

Payment for the First Billing Cycle

The first time you upgrade your account, we will calculate the difference in price for the period from the current day (the day of upgrade) until the start of the next billing cycle, and we’ll charge you for the calculated amount (this amount is lower than the full subscription amount).

With the beginning of each upcoming billing cycle, the full price of the chosen subscription plan will be charged.

Let’s go through few examples:

If you decide to upgrade to a monthly subscription plan on the 15th of August, we’ll charge you for the period from the 15th of August to the end of August.

After, at the 1st of September (and with the beginning of each upcoming billing cycle), we’ll charge you for the full price of the chosen monthly subscription plan.

If you decide to upgrade to the annual subscription plan at the 15th of August 2016,
we’ll charge you for the period from the 15th of August 2016. till the 1st of August 2017.

After, at the 1st of September (as the beginning of the next billing cycle), we’ll charge you for the full price of the chosen annual subscription plan.

 

Adding New Users to the Team

At the moment of adding a new user to your team, regardless of the chosen subscription plan, the billing for that single user will be performed for the period from the day at which the user was added till the beginning of the next billing cycle.

After, with the 1st day of every next month(the start of the next billing cycle), you’ll continue to be charged for the regular price of the chosen subscription plan.

For example, if you have 10 users on your team, and you decide to add a new user while on your monthly subscription, at the 15th of August, we’ll charge you for the amount calculated for the period from the 15th of August till the end of August.

Following the 1st of September, the price of your subscription plan will be updated for the added user.

The same principle works for the annual subscription.

For example, if you have 10 users on your team and you decide to add a new user while on your annual subscription which expires on the 1st of August 2017, and you decide to add a new user on your team in January 2017, we’ll charge you for the amount calculated for the period from the January till the 1st of August 2017.

Following the beginning of the next cycle (in this case at the 1st of August 2017), the price of your subscription plan will be updated for the added user.

 

Removing Users from the Team

If you remove users from the team in the current billing cycle, we’ll remember the number of users you previously paid for. That means you can add new users without being charged until you cross the previously paid number of users.

With each change of the number of users, we will update the subscription price. At the beginning of the next billing cycle, we’ll charge you for the updated amount.

For example, if during August you had 10 paid users on the team, and you remove 2 users in the current billing cycle, we’ll remember that you’ve previously paid for 10 users. So, until the end of August you will be able to add two more users without being charged.

Then, at the 1st of September (as the beginning of the next billing cycle), if you don’t add more users and you only have 8 of them, we’ll charge you for the updated amount of 8 users only.

 

Changing Subscription Plans

You can change your subscription plan from Startup to Premium and vice versa.

From Startup to Premium

The first time a user upgrades his account from Startup to Premium subscription plan, we will calculate the difference in the price between Startup and Premium subscription plan, and the user will be charged for the calculated amount.

At the 1st day of the next month, which is the start of the next billing cycle, the user will be charged for the regular price of the Premium subscription plan. The same works for both billing cycles.

From Premium to Startup

When you decide to change your account from the Premium to Startup subscription plan, you will have to wait until the end of your current billing cycle for the new plan to take an effect.

Once the current billing cycle expires, we’ll automatically put you on the Startup subscription plan, from when we’ll continue to charge you for the Startup subscription plan.

For example, f you are on a Premium monthly subscription plan, you can change it to Startup any time, but the new Startup subscription plan will take an effect on the next billing cycle, which starts on the 1st day of the next month.

The same applies to annual subscription plans.

For example, if you became an annual Premium user on the 1st of January 2016, and you decide to change your account from Premium to Startup subscription plan (annual or monthly) in that year, you’ll have to wait until the 1st of January 2017 for the change to take an effect.

This is when we’ll automatically put you on the Startup subscription plan (annual or monthly) and from when we’ll continue to charge you for the Startup subscription plan.

Share
Share
+12
Reddit
Total Shares 2